The Adventure Begins…

Yay!  I am so excited about this new blog I actually cried!  I hope this will be a fun place to communicate, share ideas, and be real with each other…all while keeping it interesting!

So, let’s talk about cooking!  I have been in a place the last few weeks where I have really wanted to expand what I have been cooking for my family.  We are pretty good eaters, not a lot of picky, so I wanted to try new things.  I sought out these new recipes on Food Network, one of my favorite channels!  I have always DVR’d my friend Aarti’s show, Aarti Party, and lately I have added Rachael Ray’s “Week in a Day” to the DVR schedule.  I have also searched all my Pampered Chef resources for some fun new meal ideas.

All that being said I tried a few new things this week.  Here is a list of them:

Blue Cheese and Bacon Potato Crisps–they were good!  I am not a blue cheese fan, so in making them again I would use a different cheese, but my husband, who loves blue cheese, loved them!

Tilapia Fish Tacos with Homemade Mango Salsa–the fish turned out great, the chipotle mayonnaise, not so much.  The mango salsa was really good and tasted great on the fish.  The drawback to the taco was the corn tortilla, I don’t like them, I tried.

Roasted Root Vegetable Soup with Mini Grilled Cheese Croutons–this was a recipe I had high hopes for since it is really nutritious and looked great on tv.  It was…horrible!  Bless my family, they smiled and ate it, Joshua even said he liked it.  It was grainy and the texture wasn’t ideal.   The mini grilled cheese croutons were, however, very yummy!

I know what I started out looking for was something new to make for dinner so I wouldn’t hear “chicken, again?”.  This search should have taken me to recipes I know my family would love, were relatively easy to prepare, and didn’t cost me a ton in grocery money.  Where I went wrong was trying to be what I am not.  I am not an organic cook, I am not someone who enjoys a meal made entirely of vegetables, I am not fancy.  I am a good cook, I am someone who enjoys making the meal almost as much as eating it, I am someone who wants to eat healthier.  So, I am going to keep searching for recipes that are fun, healthy, and taste great.  I am going to keep trying new things…I will let you know how it goes!

–Angela

 

11 Comments to “The Adventure Begins…”

  1. Angela,
    Love, love, love this BLOG idea! How fun!
    I certainly will enjoy reading about your cooking adventures & seeing recipes.
    The grilled cheese croutons sound YummY! 🙂
    Lara

  2. Have you peeked at relishrelish.com? It’s my “less than 7 bucks a month” solution to “what’s for dinner?”!! I love it! We had an amazing mushroom and cheddar crusted quiche once and recently an amazing cashew chicken that my KIDS ATE!! I love your blog already and I am glad the two of you came up with such a fun, long-distance endeavor!

  3. I will DEFINITELY check out the relishrelish. Haven’t heard of it. I have plenty of sites that are saving us money and giving me new ideas to keep the blah out of my kitchen. My favorite fish taco recipe is Aarti’s from when I was following her blog last year. I was a little nervous about the mint mayo, but its so refreshing on these tacos!

    -Kari

  4. i’ve been craving, CRAVING fresh food. Less Sodium…I feel sleepy all the time. I liked your recipes you posted, in fact I find myself looking in cookbooks all the time! I keep looking at crockpot books due to my busy schedule…but so many of these recipes are saucy/fattening. I am 36 and have GOT to change the way I eat. And try to get my kids to eat it too!
    Angela, I like when you say if you’re kids eat the meal or not!
    Cool Blog, Ladies! Have fun…

  5. We will start a “Recipes” section on the right hand side where we will post things we like. And if people share theirs we will include them too!
    -Kari

  6. I am with you on the healthy recipes! Looking through “healthy” cookbooks and recipes use ingredients that a normal person does not have on hand and if you wanted to go out and get it, that “healthy” recipe will not be healthy to my budget! I don’t want to use this as a place to pimp my PC business, but I do plan on going through the new Deep Covered Baker recipes, try them out on my family, and monitor their healthiness factor. It’s been great for good meals done quickly and the new cookbook will be a huge help! You use the DCB, don’t ya KP?
    –Angela

  7. I LOVE my DCB! I use it in the oven, but I love using it in the microwave even more. My favorite is the mexican chicken lasagna. As a matter of fact I will post that recipe right now!
    -Kari

  8. tilapia fish tacos with mango salsa is one of our FAVE MEALS! 😉

  9. So I have to be honest…when you were telling me about the root stew I cringed and swallowed really hard. Good for you for trying.

    As to my ribbing Ang um I have ZERO room to talk. Been more than two months since my last update.

    Yay! I do have a delish dijon chik and bowtie pasta recipe and chick and asparagus ‘packets’ ill share 🙂

  10. I have learned that fish tacos work best on flour tortillas. They always call for corn but it is a whole different taste on flour. My family loves them this way.

Leave a Reply

