Intestinal fortitude, sense of community and leadership come together

As of this weekend we have officially been in Fargo for one year.  I remember it like it was yesterday. Oh…wait…that’s because we were doing the EXACT same thing as we are doing now.  Sandbagging.  Fargo, North Dakota has had a string of bad luck when it comes to flooding. Currently a flood is projected for this spring…possibly breaking record levels set in 2009.                                                      We weren’t here then, but we witnessed the anticipation of a repeat last year.  Thankfully it wasn’t as bad, but it was an eerie feeling driving down the street with trucks full of sandbags, kids walking down the street covered in sand and mud on a week day out of school and Hummers on every corner with military officials keeping watch.  It was like a sci-fi movie starring Bill Pullman as President.  Fargo’s getting pretty good at managing these floods, so we started sandbagging last month.  The city is planning on filling 3 million sandbags and we are only half way there. These sandbags are just part of the efforts needed to protect the city from the Red River. Clay levees and other barriers are also being constructed… I suspect I will see Hummers any day now.  But as in years past something about the Fargo Moorhead area that you cannot deny is that the people look out for each other. They are and will continue to band together to do what is needed to fight the flood. It’s a very cool thing to witness. 

If all goes according to plan and the flood is averted, this will be the only blog entry I need to write about the flood. But if things get worse and we reach record levels once again, I’ll let you know. Or just watch the national news. You’ll probably see us on TV.

In other news…Mike made Alton Brown’s Fish Tacos last night.  Fish tacos have continued to pop up on this blog several times.  Mario Lopez says they are the key to weight loss…so lets keep tryin different ones!  Alton’s were very tasty.  Of course I loved the Crema the most.  The fattening part, but it was SO tasty.  Instead of making the crema from scratch and waiting 24 hours for the cream and buttermilk to MAKE sour cream…we just blended sour cream, cream and the chiles in adobo sauce. YUM!

I am off to fill sandbags with the school district this afternoon!  Keep Fargo in your prayers and let me know what YOU are planning to eat this weekend!

-Savory

6 Comments to “Intestinal fortitude, sense of community and leadership come together”

  1. Wow! That pic says a lot. I hope they do not get what they are predicting for flooding. At what grade level do kids start missing school to sandbag? Seriously, you sandbag during work as part of your job? That’s incredible, a lot of towns would leave it all up to the Public Works Dept or someone else. Great community spirit!!
    -Angela

  2. Yep! Businesses are letting out of work to go help. Its very cool. The NEED isn’t cool, but the ability to help is. And they start letting out of school in 9th grade I believe. Some of the middle schoolers help, but not during school hours. However, if your house is in a flood plain and your parents keep you home to sandbag your neighborhood or house it is excused.
    -Kari

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting
    my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not
    100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Appreciate it

  4. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot
    of spam responses? If so how do you reduce it,
    any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much
    lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  5. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s
    time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I wish to read more things about it!

  6. Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your
    blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go
    over the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

Leave a Reply

