Dinner is served!

I have been making new recipes lately and have found several that I really like!  I am not great at gauging if a recipe is super healthy and I have decided that if I control my portions, don’t go wild with snacking, and move a little it doesn’t matter.  I mean, I am not making meals with pounds of butter or anything!  : )

Anyway…I have a Deep Covered Baker from The Pampered Chef.  I love it.  It allows me to cook dinner in minutes in the microwave, but is also a fabulous casserole dish for the oven.  So, no matter what kind of cook you are it’s great.  I recently acquired the new cookbook for the DCB and have tried the following recipes:

Homemade Chicken Pot Pie:  It is chicken breasts cut in chunks, a package of any frozen veg you like (I used peas, carrot, green bean mixture), some chicken broth, spices, and a sheet of puff pastry for the crust.  It was super yummy!  The only issue I had with it was it was a little runny.  It sort of turned out like chicken soup with dumpling like crust on top.  I might have used too much broth…still very yummy!  Kid vote:  Thumbs up!!  2 clean plates!

Roasted Garlic Chicken:  This was a whole fryer chicken that I dolled up and roasted in the oven.  It had a halved lemon and quartered onion shoved in it’s cavity, and some garlic, spice, zest, evoo paste under its skin.  This was very tasty!  It was a whole new thing for me to prepare a whole chicken this way and I was worried it wouldn’t turn out right, but it was good!  I served it with some broccoli and my garlic roasted potatoes.  Kid vote:  Thumbs up!!  2 clean plates!

Chicken Piccata Pasta:  This was chicken, angel hair pasta, lemon, spices, artichoke hearts, and some capers.  This was really good too, but a little too lemony.  It calls for lemon pepper on the chicken and lemon juice in the sauce.  Next time I would cut back on some of the lemon.  Also, I would definitely make it without capers next time.  Not a fan.  I just found this out.  Kid vote:  Eh, ok.  They ate, but it wasn’t their favorite.  They also left the capers on the plate.

On the menu for tonight is BBQ Bacon Stuffed Meatloaf.  I am excited about this twist on meatloaf!  It looks very simple to prepare and yummy to eat!  I will let you know how it turns out and if my family likes it!

Happy Eating!

–Angela

5 Comments to “Dinner is served!”

  1. Hey – we make a similar chicken pot pie recipe. Try replacing the chicken broth with cream of chicken and or cream of mushroom soup. We also use the heart healthy bisquick as the top and it works great.

    Let me know if you want anyone to test the meatloaf. It sounds awesome! 🙂

  2. The meatloaf for dinner was great! The kids had to get past the fact that it had mushrooms in it, but they both cleaned their plates! It was easy too! Yay!!
    –Angela

  3. Kim says use regular pie crust and not puff then it will be better and more firm. And either thicken it with flour or do the cream of chicken like John said. I can’t make chicken pot pie because my family doesn’t like it. 😦 I LOVE chicken pot pie! I make a bacon cheeseburger meatloaf that is really good. Its a Paula recipe. I shall post it in recipes.

    And…was that cooking with pounds of butter a jab at me? 🙂 I guess I won’t post about wanting to try Paula Deen’s deep fried bacon wrapped mac and cheese. – K

  4. HA the blog “Our Best Bites” referenced on my blog just posted on bacon wraped meatloaf 🙂

  5. The butter comment was not a jab at you! And…please do post the deep fried bacon wrapped mac and cheese!! Mmmmmm!!
    –A

Leave a Reply

