The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men…

This weekend was the weirdest combination of stressful and relaxing all at the same time.  Friday night I had grand plans in my head for a “date night in” with Mike.  K was going to sleep over at a friends, Z had a track meet that started during the school day and then was going to go out after and we had the perfect meal in mind.  The Pittsburgh Steak salad. Now…before I had even HAD it I was in love.  Just watching Guy Fieri talk about it on Diners Drive Ins and Dives was enough to know that it was going to be awesome and ALL DAY at work I looked forward to it.  I even skipped lunch so that I would be extra hungry.  As I was pulling into the Y to pick up K my phone rang.  It was K’s friend M saying that her mom was sick and could they have the sleepover at our house. Ug. I instantly wanted to cry, but said yes anyway.  It would keep the girls happy and not ruin their night and also help out M’s mom.  I couldn’t say no.  For those of you that know me…I do NOT deal well with last-minute sabotage.  I get my hopes up so high that falling definitely fractures something.  At any rate…I tried to save the evening in my mind.  We never actually SEE the girls when they have sleepovers.  They usually stay up in K’s room and watch movies and do makeup and nails, so dinner and a movie in the living room still worked.  Then Mike called.  He had gone to watch Z run and he hadn’t yet run by 6:30.  I knew from working in the school district office this meet was going to last until 9 or 10.  There was the final blow.  It was going to be me…alone…entertaining the girls.  AND not getting to watch Z run. AND not getting the meal I had waited for ALL DAY.  In the end it worked out just fine…as it usually does, but I couldn’t see that in the moment.  We made sandwiches and had a grape fight in the kitchen, then the girls played outside until about 8 when they came in to watch a movie and eat popcorn in K’s room.  I got to watch Private Practice and Grey’s Anatomy, which was just ending as Mike and Z walked in the door at 9. 

Saturday morning was a very relaxing day.  I made banana bread for breakfast.  I haven’t made it in so long, but I had bananas that were past their point, so it just seemed perfect.  And it turned out GREAT!  It was gone by the end of the day.  I will have to make more tonight because I only got one little slice.  Z had to attend the JV track meet and help with events until noon, so while the girls played outside Mike and I watched Due Date.  It was a funny movie.  AND I got the socks sorted.  They have been building up in the laundry basket for what seems like forever.  All of the laundry was clean, so whatever was unmatched I threw away.  I probably threw away 30 unmatched socks. Still don’t know how that happens.  At any rate, the afternoon was spent eating pinwheels and watching The Fighter with Mike and Z while K was at M’s house.  It was a good movie.  It didn’t hit me who the movie was about until he had “Irish Mickey Ward” on his back.  Duh! I have watched him fight a million times. Lots of cussing, but the kind where you tune it out because that’s how they talk in that neighborhood.  Much like Good Will Hunting.  It wasn’t misplaced so after a while I didn’t notice.  I LOVE true stories. It was apparent that Z was going to be in for dinner, so I ran to the store to get more steak for the salad while Mike started the fries.  Here is the Diners Drive Ins and Dives episode where we found the salad. You can skip to 3 minutes 35 seconds to view the salad part of the video.

Needless to say, it was AWESOME!  Good Saturday.

Sunday was a mixed day.  Started with K and I going to church early as the choir was singing.  She likes to go with me and play on her ipod and listen to us practice.  GREAT service and got to see part of the musical set up on stage. 

 It is SO COOL!!!  I am amazed at the talent and hours being put in by the leaders and church body.

For lunch we had grilled cheese.  The kids went with American and bacon, I had bleu cheese, provolone, tomato and bacon and Mike had both of those AND some other concoction involving the pinwheel mixture from the day before.  He started throwing up 5 minutes before I left for musical rehearsal.  We had plans to have a soccer meeting and dinner with the other captains parents at 4:30.  As of 4:15 we still hadn’t gotten to my second scene and MY stomach was hurting.  Didn’t know if we had bad food, if Mike has a stomach virus and was going to pass it on OR if it was in my head, but I felt icky and nervous.  I HATE throwing up.  I texted the mom of the other captain and went on stage.  After getting OFF stage at 4:45 I had a text from Z that I had sent it to HIM…not her.  So we were already late…hadn’t notified her AND had to cancel.  I felt HORRIBLE.  But what could I do?  Mike spent the rest of the night ill.  I think and hope that he just ate too much rich food.  Dunno.  I guess we shall see, but I am keeping my fingers crossed. 

But today is a new day!  I switched back to my full size coffee maker in lieu of the one cup Keurig.  I can set it to be made when we wake up and both of us can have coffee together in the morning while we get ready.  I had coffee, got to work on time AND had work kudos upon arrival.  I like this Monday.   Tonight…Baked Chicken Bacon Alfredo, Caesar Salad and Garlic Bread while watching The Suite Life Movie with the fam.  After tucking K in Mike and I will watch the season premiers of Nurse Jackie and The United States of Tara…if all goes according to plan 🙂

Happy Monday to you all!!! – Savory/Kari

4 Comments to “The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men…”

  1. That’s awesome! I am so happy that you are connected in your church and a part of the upcoming production!! I also love that we talk about what we have been eating in each of our blogs! We are awesome! ; ) That steak salad?? I am not sure if I would like it or not…Tom definitely would, he is a blue cheese and prime rib kind of guy! Happy Monday!
    –A

  2. Too bad about the sick business. But the eats do sound yummy!

    Question: 1c keurig or small French press and why…

  3. You get a much better cup of coffee from the french press, but since my electric water heater died I havent been pressing or I DEFINITELY would still be doing that. That serves both Mike and I and it really is the best brew. Keurig was just fast and easy. Still good cup of coffee. Some day I will have another electric water heater. 🙂 – K

  4. Love the new design!

Leave a Reply

