Risotto with brandy in it? Yes, please! AKA: 101 Excuses for NOT starting a diet.

OK…so the super motivated 6 week body makeover and couch to 5K hasn’t happened yet. The day we were to start Mike ended up sick and at the walk in clinic. He had a sinus infection and infected ears…so we postponed so that he could get better. The next week was 4th of July weekend. A soccer family that we know invited us to the lake and we knew that with all the yummy food and fun we definitely would blow the diet there…so we postponed. THEN the next weekend I took Kelsey to Minneapolis for her flight to Kansas City for camp and fun with family and friends. She and I had meals planned at American Girl Café and an ice cream date…so we postponed.

All of this was followed by our last soccer tournament of the summer. Well…why not postpone? All that eating out is just going to blow it…right?

My parents will be here in just 2 days. For three weeks. If you KNOW your mom is coming and she makes great food and you will be requesting things like bierocks covered in butter, chicken fried steak with cream gravy and pies…why start a diet? So I am going to say my journey to a new and improved me will just have to start when school does. When life has a normal schedule and balance.

In the meantime I am still on the path to discovering new recipes that I love. As both of our children are still out of town, the hubs and I have two more evenings of meals alone. These are the times when we can break out the seafood and not have to hear any complaints. YAY! Tonight is Lemon Risotto with Tuscan Style Tuna. I found the recipe here.  I must say she has some pretty tasty looking recipes, so I chose Garlic Chili Prawns for tomorrow night. This is the recipe, but we are serving them over oriental ramen because we are having risotto tonight.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it. A good risotto is one of my new very favorite things. I am leaving on my lunch break today to pick up the groceries I ordered online and take them home to marinate the tuna steaks.

Other than the fat fest…I am missing my kids. K has been gone for two weeks and Z has only been gone 5 days thus far. However…I am kinda in a funk. I spoke with K on the phone this morning and she was weird and short and said “I could stay another week and be just fine”. She also wouldn’t say I love you. Although I am glad she isn’t crying and homesick…I do hope she is just putting on the brave face knowing she DOES miss me and doesn’t want to break down. Who knows. Either way I am going to try and enjoy the evening with Mr. Prekel.

After dinner I think we might be going to see a movie. Our 11th anniversary was last Friday and because we were out of town at a soccer tournament, we didn’t celebrate. Its just been a week of laxidasical celebration ended with two nights of yummy seafood.

Not bad 🙂 – Savory

Leave a Reply

